Call Today 630.793.6337
We Understand There's A Lot At Stake Our Experienced Team Is Here To Help

Driving without Insurance Defense Attorneys in Naperville

Fighting Traffic Violations for Uninsured or Underinsured Drivers

Under Illinois law, drivers are required to carry car insurance. This requirement is intended to ensure that drivers who are responsible for accidents can pay for the damages and injuries they cause. If you are caught driving without insurance, you may face stiff penalties including fines, the suspension or revocation of your driver's license, and jail time in certain cases. For this reason, you should contact a Naperville traffic violation attorney as soon as you can in order to minimize the legal consequences that you are facing. The lawyers at the Roscich & Martel Law Firm have helped countless people in situations just like yours.

Let us handle your case and protect your rights. Call us at (630) 793-6337 now.

What are the Minimum Liability Amounts in Illinois?

The minimum levels of coverage that Illinois drivers must carry are as follows:

  • $25,000 - injury or death of one person in an accident.
  • $50,000 - injury or death of more than one person in an accident.
  • $20,000 - damage to property of another person.

You are legally required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle and present it to law enforcement on request. Keep in mind that you can still be accused of violating the law if you have insurance but are unable to present your insurance card when a police officer asks for it.

What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance?

Operating a motor vehicle without insurance can result in extremely serious consequences. These consequences range from simple fines to jail time based on the circumstances of the offense.

Penalties under Illinois law are as follows:

  • If you are caught driving without proof of insurance for the first time but can show that you have insurance at your court date, you will be fined $100
  • For a first offense or second offense, a fine of between $500 and $1,000 and a license suspension of three months
  • For a third offense, a fine of $1,000
  • If you cause bodily injury while you are not carrying insurance, you may be convicted of a misdemeanor, which could result in up to a year in jail. In addition, you will be fined $2,500

Fortunately, there are often ways that an experienced lawyer can help people accused of driving without insurance avoid the most serious consequences. As a result, it is in your best interest to call a lawyer as soon as you can after you receive a citation or are arrested for driving without insurance.

To schedule a consultation with the Roscich & Martel Law Firm, call us today at (630) 793-6337 or contact us online.

Why Roscich & Martel is Different

  • Award-Winning Team
    of Attorneys

  • Honest and Knowledgeable Legal Guidance

  • Courtroom
    Experience

  • Client First
    Approach